How about some summer Black Bears news!

The FPHL Expansion draft happened today with five bears getting picked.

Josh Fletcher was selected by Blue Ridge, Brodie Thornton was nabbed by Baton Rouge while Jestin Somero and Andrew Uturo joined Fletcher with the Bobcats and Colan Fitzgerald was picked up by Athens.

Those Teams now have their right and will now have the option to trade players acquired in the draft, sign them to standard player agreement, or be released as free agents at a later date.

The FPHL plans to have 14 teams in the league next year, adding teams in Athens, GA, Monroe, LA, Danville, IL, and Hudson Valley, NY. The Baton Rouge Zydeco and Blue Ridge Bobcats also picked in the draft.

The Black Bears protected the following players from being drafted: Tyson Kirkby, Gavin Yates, Connor Smith, Austin Thompson, Kyle Stephan, Blake Tosto, Cameron Clark, Dakota Bohn, Dan Stone, Dan Wieber, Jesse Anderson, and Connor McAnanama.