By Fox 40 Staff.

Monday marked the first day fireworks could be legally sold in New York State - just not everywhere in New York State.

A state law signed last November allowed for the sale of novelty items from June 1st through July 5th, and December 26th through January 2nd. However, counties had to opt into the law for sales to be legal in those municipalities. The following counties have: Herkimer, Onondaga, Saratoga, Ulster, Westchester, Wyoming, Essex, Schuyler, Yates and Washington counties.

Spokespeople for the Broome and Tioga legislatures say there has not been legislation proposed which would allow for the sale of novelty fireworks, nor is there any pending. Deputy Broome County Executive John Bernardo told Fox 40,“after speaking with our emergency services coordinator and many local firefighters, we decided to opt out of allowing the sale of fireworks in Broome County. People will still be able to enjoy fireworks shows during the Fourth of July weekend, but we felt for the safety of our residents it was best to leave the fireworks to the professionals.”