The Greater Binghamton Sports Hall of Fame announced that former New York Giants linebacker Carl Banks will be this year's Induction Dinner Speaker.

Banks won two Super Bowls with the Giants in 1986 and 1990, earning an All-Pro nod in 1987. Banks was also selected to the NFL 1980s All-Decade Team and is in the Giants Ring of Honor. Banks now serves as the team's color analyst on radio. 

The dinner is on Monday, April 29th at the Double Tree by Hilton in Downtown Binghamton. Dinner begins at 6:30 pm with the Cash Bar starting one hour earlier. There will be a news conference with Banks ahead of the dinner.

Thirteen individuals are being inducted this April. Last year's speaker was Jim Boeheim. This is the ninth annual Greater Binghamton Sports Hall of Fame Induction Dinner.

Tickets can be purchased here.


DaQuan Jones of Johnson City

-Jones is a defensive tackle in the NFL, most recently playing for the Buffalo Bills, and is entering free agency this offseason. Jones graduated from JC in 2009 before playing football at Penn State. Jones played for the Tennessee Titans and Carolina Panthers before the Bills and was a fourth-round draft pick in 2014.

Matt Gallagher of Maine-Endwell.

-Gallagher currently serves as the Head Coach for Maine-Endwell football and wrestling. Gallagher has won six NYSPHSAA Football championships. Won 62 straight games from 2011-2015, the longest in NYS history.

Gary Vail of Windsor

-Vail was a varsity baseball coach at Windsor for 27 years, winning 423 games and three Section IV Championships.

Fred Seymour of Binghamton

-Seymour was named STAC First-Team All-League in 1987 and All-Division in 1986. Later in his life, Seymour worked in Major League Baseball and Minor League Baseball. The BHS grad was also a member of Rollins College during their Division II College World Series run.

"Joltin" Joe Matisi of Union-Endicott

-Matisi was a heavyweight boxer boasting a 38-3 record in the amateur ranks and a 29-9-3 mark in the pros. 

Lou Ferraro of Union-Endicott/Binghamton

-Ferraro won 316 games as head baseball coach at Binghamton High School over 23 years. Went to two NYS Final Four appearances as BHS coach.

Exterminator the Horse (Posthumously)

-Exterminator won the 1918 Kentucky Derby and 1922 "Horse of the Year" Award. Owned by Willis Sharpe Kilmer and is buried at Whispering Pines Pet Cemetary in Binghamton. Competed in 99 races with 50 first-place finishes.

Suzanne Girard Eberle of Maine-Endwell

-Girard Eberle was a three-sport athlete at Maine-Endwell in Field Hockey, Cross-Country and Track. The former Spartan was a five-time All-American at Georgetown University.

Dr. Al Dufty Jr. of Vestal (Posthumously)

-DuftyHolds Vestal High School single-game scoring record with 44 points, set in 1968. Played college ball at Princeton University and was named captain for the 1971-192 campaign when the Tigers went 20-7.

Jim Doherty of Vestal (Posthumously)

-Doherty was drafted in the sixth round of the MLB draft by the Atlanta Braves. Doherty was a three-sport athlete at Vestal, pitching a no-hitter in the STAC Championship game. 

Mike Doherty of Vestal

-Doherty was a three-sport athlete at Vestal, leading the VHS Soccer team to a pair of Section IV Titles. Doherty went on to play soccer at Binghamton University where he won two SUNYAC titles (1980, 1982). Doherty later became Colgate University's head coach for 20 seasons. 

Joel Bennett of Windsor

-Bennett was a baseball player, coach and teacher Windsor High School and even pitched in seven MLB games across two seasons. Bennett led all of Minor League Baseball in strikeouts with 221 in 1993. Bennett also coached high school baseball for 20 years at Windsor and Maine-Endwell.

Cindy Bostelman of Afton

-Bostelman is a six-time NYS Softball champion and boasts an incredible 16-straight Section IV Class "D" Championships. Bostelman also served as the Athletic Director at Afton.

The Hall of Fame also hands out a pair of $1,500 scholarship awards to local high school seniors. This year, Maine-Endwell's Aleciyah Brodley received the "John W. Fox Award" and Union-Endicott's Jaylon Yearwood was given the "John B. Caveny Award".