• Home

B-Sens still winless in 2016 after falling to Pens

WILKES-BARRE, P.A. – The Binghamton Senators failed to hold a 1-0 lead after 20 minutes of play as they fell on the road to the Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins.

The B-Sens played a solid opening 20 minutes outshooting their host Penguins 11-5 while taking a 1-0 lead into the first intermission. Matt Puempel extended his point-scoring streak to six-straight games with his 12th goal of the year 6:57 into the period. Chris Driedger, who made his third consecutive start in net for Binghamton , survived a late rush by the Penguins in the period to keep the score 1-0 B-Sens.

The Penguins came storming back in the middle frame, notching a pair of goals in the opening 2:22 to take a 2-1 lead. Wilkes-Barre/Scranton’s Dominik Uher redirected a shot from Reid McNeill past Driedger 1:25 into the frame before Sahir Gill wristed home his third strike of the year less than one minute later. The Penguins took the 2-1 lead into the final intermission break outshooting the B-Sens 13-12.

Wilkes-Barre/Scranton outshot Binghamton 11-9 over the final period adding two goals in the process en route to a 4-1 win. Tom Kostopoulos increased the Penguins lead to 3-1 7:36 into the third period before Uher added his second on the night on a B-Sens empty net to move the final score to 4-1.

Murray finished with 32 saves on 33 shots faced while Driedger dropped his second straight allowing three goals on 27 shots faced.

Binghamton is back on home ice for back-to-back games beginning Friday, January 8, when they host the Utica Comets before facing off against the Rochester Americans on Saturday with both games set to begin at 7:05p.m. Fans can purchase tickets by calling the B-Sens Executive Office Wednesday and Thursday from 9:00a.m. – 5:30p.m. or Friday and Saturday from 8:00a.m. – the game’s second intermission. Fans can also purchase tickets through the Arena Box Office and all Ticketmaster outlets during normal business hours by visiting www.ticketmaster.com or at 1-800-745-3000.

(Courtesy: Binghamton Senators)