• Home

Binghamton Softball wins first-ever 2015 America East Tournament

STONY BROOK, N.Y. - Binghamton softball team won its first-ever America East Conference championship on Saturday and the Bearcats have earned the accompanying automatic bid to the upcoming NCAA Tournament. Needing a pair of wins over No. 1 Stony Brook, the Bearcats reeled off 5-2 and 9-3 victories to reach the national tournament for the first time in the school's Division I tenure.

In the winner-take-all title game, BU stretched a 3-2 lead with five runs in the top of the sixth inning. Senior shortstop Caytlin Friis delivered a two-run double to the wall in right center and junior right fielder Sydney Harbaugh drilled a three-run home run to the opposite field. The teams traded runs in the seventh inning to close out the scoring.

Freshman pitcher Sarah Miller earned the Most Outstanding Player trophy after earning all four wins over the weekend. She was joined on the All-Championship team by teammates Lisa Cadogan, Sydney Harbaugh and Caytlin Friis, Stony Brook's Diane Caruso, Allison Cukrov and Alexandra Pisciotta, Albany's Vicky McFarland and Jess Tate and Maine's Alexis Bogdanovich and Erika Leonard.

(Courtesy: Binghamton Athletics)