Print Print Article | Close Close Window

Three former B-Mets make All-Star Rosters

NEW YORK -- New York will once again play host to baseball's All Star Game.  It's the 9th time the Big Apple has hosted the Midsummer Classic, with Chicago coming in second with seven.  The game will be held at Citi Field, just the second time the Mets have played host, with the last coming in Shea Stadiums inaugural season in 1964. 

To celebrate, the Amazin's will send their brightest two faces to the game: Captain David Wright will start the game at third base, and Matt Harvey was named to the pitching staff.  Harvey is an early favorite to start the game. 

Another former B-Met, Carlos Gomez, will be on the NL Bench as a member of the Milwaukee Brewers.

Across town, just two Yankees will play the ASG.  Robinson Cano, like Wright is a Home Run Derby Captain, will start at second base, and Mariano Rivera will close things out for the AL.  Rivera was previously offered a chance to start his final All Star Game but declined saying that he spent his career as a closer, not a starter.

Here is a list of both teams lineups, pitching staff and reserves:

AL Starters                                                         
C - Joe Mauer, MIN                               
1B - Chris Davis, BAL                         
2B - Robinson Cano, NYY
SS - J.J. Hardy, BAL
3B - Miguel Cabrera, DET
OF - Mike Trout, LAA
OF - Adam Jones, BAL
OF - Jose Bautista, TOR
DH - David Ortiz, BOS

AL Pitchers
Clay Buccholz, BOS
Brett Cecil, TOR
Bartolo Colon, OAK
Jesse Crain, CHW
Yu Darvish, TEX
Felix Hernandez, SEA
Hisashi Iwakuma, SEA
Justin Masterson, CLE
Joe Nathan, TEX
Glen Perkins, MIN
Mariano Rivera, NYY
Chris Sale, CHW
Max Scherzer, DET
Justin Verlander, DET

AL Reserves
Jason Castro, HOU
Salvador Perez, KC
Prince Fielder, DET
Jason Kipnis, CLE
Dustin Pedroia, BOS
Ben Zobrist, TB
Jhonny Peralta, DET
Manny Machado, BAL
Nelson Cruz, TEX
Alex Gordon, KC
Torii Hunter, DET
Edwin Encarnacion, TOR

NL Starters
C - Yadier Molina, STL
1B - Joey Votto, CIN
2B - Brandon Phillips, CIN
SS - Troy Tulowitzki, COL
3B - David Wright, NYM
OF - Carlos Beltran, STL
OF - Carlos Gonzalez, COL
OF - Bryce Harper, WAS

NL Pitchers
Madison Bumgarner, SF
Aroldis Chapman, CIN
Patrick Corbin, ARI
Jose Fernandez, MIA
Jason Grilli, PIT
Matt Harvey, NYM
Clayton Kershaw, LAD
Craig Kimbrel, ATL
Cliff Lee, PHI
Jeff Locke, PIT
Adam Wainwright, STL
Travis Wood, CHC
Jordan Zimmerman, WAS

NL Reserves
Buster Posey, SF
Paul Goldschmidt, ARI
Allen Craig, STL
Matt Carpenter, STL
Marco Scutaro, SF
Everth Cabrera, SD
Jean Segura, MIL
Pedro Alvarez, PIT
Dominic Brown, PHI
Michael Cuddyer, COL
Carlos Gomez, MIL
Andrew McCutchen, PIT

Now, fans are allowed to also vote for the last player onto the roster.  There are five players for each league.  In the American League they are: Joaquin Benoit, DET; Steve Delabar, TOR; David Robertson, NYY; Tanner Schepers, TEX; Koji Uehara, BOS.

In the NL, the last man in will be: Ian Desmond, WAS; Freddie Freeman, ATL; Adrian Gonzalez, LAD; Hunter Pence, SF; or Yasiel Puig, LAD.

Voting for the last man in ends on July 11th.  The All Star Game is July 16th, preceded by the Home Run Derby on the 15th, and the Futures Game and All Star, Legends, and Celebrities Softball game on Sunday the 14th.  Rafael Monter and Noah Syndergaard who have spent time with the B-Mets this season will play in the Futures Game, as will Brandon Nimmo who will likely be in Binghamton in the near future.

View Related Articles: B-Mets, Mets, MLB, Yankees or comment on this one below.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Binghamton web design and website hosting by EFX internet  EFX internet